|The town of Bompensiere
Tourism in Bompensiere
Bompensiere is a small town founded in 1630 by don Ottavio Lanza di Trabia with licentia populandi, and was part of the nearby Montedoro up to 1911.
The planning of this rural village, situated on a light slope in the middle of a nice hilly spot, is displayed around via Pietro Lanza di Scalea.
And right in this area there is the Mother Church, dedicated to the Holy Crucifix.
Photo © Walter Lo Cascio
The church is the only sacred place open to believers. The church layout is quite old, dated back to the 17th century, but it has recently been changed. The most important changes were made between 1923 and 1958.
The facade of the church is quite simple but in the meantime it is quite elegant in its structure. Of great beauty is the framed portal surmounted by a bell cell.
The upper part of the building is triangular and has a modern style clock which replaces an old one annexed to the original 17th century facade.
The inside of the church is quite precious and boasts a canvas by Pietro D'Asaro, also known as the Monocolo.